Third Crusade


From 1188 to 1192. After Saladin’s army invaded the Kingdom of Jerusalem and captured the Holy City, 1187, the Third Crusade was organized. Under Emperor Frederick Barbarossa, who started 1189, and Philip Augustus of France and Richard Creur de Lion of England, who left the following year, the armies finally won Saint Jean d’Acre in 1191, and Richard concluded a truce with Saladin in 1192.

MLA Citation

  • “Third Crusade”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 15 August 2010. Web. 12 August 2020. <>