The Five Scapulars


The Church has approved 18 kinds of scapulars. Any five of these may be worn together, if the wearer has been invested with each of the five. Those commonly used for that purpose are

  • the brown scapular of Mount Carmel
  • the red of the Passion
  • the black of the Seven Dolors
  • the blue of the Immaculate Conception
  • the white of the Trinity

MLA Citation

  • “The Five Scapulars”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 13 June 2010. Web. 29 November 2021. <>