A patriarch‘s territory, see, or diocese over which he governs. The first three patriarchates in the Catholic Church to enjoy patriarchical rights were Rome, Alexandria, and Antioch. The pope is the patriarch over the West. This Western Patriarchate comprises “all the western lands where Latin was once the civilized, and is still the liturgical language, where the Roman Rite is now used almost exclusively and the Roman canon law obtains.”