Feasts of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary

Pictorial Lives of the Saints: The Seven Dolors of the Blessed VirginArticle

1) Friday in Passion Week, commemorating the sorrow of Mary during the Passion , and Death of Christ; instituted by the provincial synod of Cologne in 1413 to expiate the crimes of the iconoclast Hussites, being termed the Compassion or Transfixion; extended to the entire Church by Pope Benedict XIII in 1727. The Stabat Mater is sung during Mass and Office.

2) 15 September, in devotion to the seven dolors of Mary

  • the prophecy of Simeon
  • flight into Egypt
  • loss of the Child Jesus at Jerusalem
  • meeting Jesus on the road to Calvary
  • standing at the foot of the Cross
  • the descent of Jesus from the Cross
  • His burial

It was first granted to the Servites in 1668, and extended to the whole Church by Pope Pius VII in 1814.

Additional Information

MLA Citation

  • “Feasts of the Seven Sorrows of the Blessed Virgin Mary”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 14 October 2010. Web. 22 January 2021. <http://catholicsaints.info/feasts-of-the-seven-sorrows-of-the-blessed-virgin-mary/>