Diocese of Wewak, Papua New Guinea


  • 25 July 1913 as the Prefecture Apostolic of West Kaiserwilhelmsland, by the division of the Prefecture Apostolic of Kaiserwilhelmsland


Suffragan of

Profiled bishops


    Name changed to the Prefecture Apostolic of Central New Guinea and entrusted to the Missionaries of the Society of the Divine Word on 14 November 1922. Name changed to the Vicariate Apostolic of Wewak on 15 May 1952.

    Additional Information

    MLA Citation

    • “Diocese of Wewak, Papua New Guinea“. CatholicSaints.Info. 11 July 2020. Web. 24 September 2021. <>