Diocese of Tunis, Tunisia


  • ancient diocese of Carthage, North Africa
  • 1843 re-established as the Vicariate Apostolic of Tunis


Suffragan of

  • Holy See

Profiled Bishops
during the Carthage period

    during the Tunis period


      Subsequent to the restoration, a beautiful cathedral on the ancient hill of Byrsa was dedicated on 18 May 1890 to Saint Louis IX. Name changed to the Territorial Prelature of Tunis on 9 July 1964.

      Additional Information

      MLA Citation

      • “Diocese of Tunis, Tunisia“. Gazetteer of the Faith. CatholicSaints.Info. 8 July 2009. Web. 19 October 2021. <>