diocese of London, England


the last Catholic bishop was imprisoned on 20 April 1560, ending Church authority in the see. Its bishops include two saints and six archbishops of Canterbury. The fourteenth-century Norman cathedral of Saint Paul’s, which replaced the Saxon cathedral of the tenth century, was despoiled under Henry VIII, used as a market and theater until its destruction by fire in 1666.

Profiled Bishops

MLA Citation

  • “diocese of London, England“. CatholicSaints.Info. 29 April 2017. Web. 21 June 2021. <>