Council of Florence

The Seventeenth Æcumenical Council conducted from 1438 to 1445, held in the pontificate of Pope Eugene IV, first in the city of Ferrara and later at Florence, Italy. Its aim was the reunion of the Eastern Churches, especially of the Greek Orthodox Church, with the Catholic Church. Although at the council the Greek representatives, headed by the Greek emperor, agreed to the famous decree of union (Lætentur Cæli) which was announced on 6 July 1439, yet in Russia the Muscovite princes, and in Byzantium (now Constantinople) the Byzantine clergy and people, refused to abide by the decrees of the council.