Congregation of the Holy Cross

Also known as

  • Priests of the Holy Cross
  • Priests of the Notre Dame of the Holy Cross
  • Religious of the Holy Cross
  • Religious of the Notre Dame of the Holy Cross


An amalgamation of two French Societies, the Brothers of Saint Joseph (Josephites) founded at Ruille in 1820 by Father Jacques Dujarie, and transferred to Le Mans, being there united with the Fathers of the Holy Cross (Salvatorists), established in 1839, by Blessed Basil Anthony Marie Moreau. The congregation consists of priests and lay brothers bound by simple vows and the threefold purpose of self-sanctification, preaching the Divine Word, and the Christian education of youth in all phases of instruction. The oldest and most extensive existing province is that of the United States, with the mother-house at Notre Dame, Indiana, dating from 1842; the Canadian Province was established five years later. The special mission field assigned Holy Cross by the Congregation for the Evangelization of Peoples is the Province of Eastern Bengal. At the General Chapter of 1920 the rules and constitutions were thoroughly revised to conform to the New Code of Canon Law.