Catholic Pocket Dictionary – Redemptorist Fathers


The Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer, was founded by Saint Alphonsus Maria de Liguori in the year 1732.

On 25 February 1749, Pope Benedict XIV approved the rules and confirmed the new institute by a solemn approbation, and Saint Alphonsus called his congregation by the name of the Most Holy Redeemer. The members of the Congregation of the Most Holy Redeemer, besides the three simple but perpetual vows of poverty) chastity, and obedience, bind themselves by a vow of perseverance until death in the Institute, which they confirm in a promissory oath. They are bound by their vow of poverty to refuse all benefices, offices, or dignities outside their Congregation.

The Congregation is under the Government of a superior-general, called the Rector Major, who is elected for life by a general chapter, and is assisted by six consultors. His residence is in Borne. The superiors of the various provinces (Provincials) and of the houses (Rectors), with their consultors, are appointed for a term of three years by the Rector Major.

MLA Citation

  • Father James J McGovern. “Redemptorist Fathers”. Catholic Pocket Dictionary, 1906. CatholicSaints.Info. 5 November 2019. Web. 5 March 2021. <>