Canons Regular of the Holy Cross

Also known as

  • Crosiers


Religious order founded, 1211, by Blessed Theodore de Celles at Clair-Lieu, near Huy, Belgium. The members of this order follow the Rule of Saint Augustine and have as their patroness Saint Odilia. They give missions and retreats, assist the secular clergy, and educate young men for the priesthood. In a short time the society spread to France, the Netherlands, Germany, and England. During the 16th century the houses in England were destroyed; at the time of the Reformation all but two of the Dutch houses were despoiled; and during the French Revolution the order was expelled from France and Belgium. The two remaining convents in Holland were forbidden by King William to admit any novices. His successor retracted this edict (1840) and from that time the order commenced to flourish again. A province was formed in Canada, three large branches were established in Belgium, the convent of Uden, Holland, was completely restored, and the mother-house at Saint Agatha, Holland, was rebuilt. To these canons belongs the privilege granted to them by Leo X and confirmed by Leo XIII of blessing beads with an indulgence of 500 days, called the Crosier indulgence. To the members of the province of Canada is entrusted the Diocese of Chittagong.

MLA Citation

  • “Canons Regular of the Holy Cross“. Congregations of the Faith. CatholicSaints.Info. 19 April 2013. Web. 17 October 2021. <>