Camaldolese Order



The object of the founder was to introduce into the West the eremitical life led by the Eastern monks and the Fathers of the Desert. For six centuries the order steadily increased as one community but in time it became divided into the five congregations of

  • the Holy Hermitage
  • San Michele di Murano
  • Monte Corona
  • the Congregation of Turin
  • Notre Dame de Consolation (France).

There are currently three congregations in the Camaldolese order

  • the Congregation of Cenobites
  • the Congregation of Hermits of Etruria
  • the Congregation of Hermits of Monte Corona

Profiled Camaldolese

MLA Citation

  • “Camaldolese Order“. CatholicSaints.Info. 30 December 2019. Web. 17 October 2021. <>