Books of the Bible


  • Greek: biblion, book


These number 73, according to the Catholic Canon of books which really contain the revelation of God to man. According to the Council of Trent, there are three groups in the Old Testament, embracing 46 books

The difference between the Jewish and Catholic counting is due to the fact that the Catholics accept also the so-called deuterocanonical books.

There are 27 books of the New Testament –

MLA Citation

  • “Books of the Bible”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 12 June 2010. Web. 4 December 2021. <>