Also known as

  • Community of Saint Basil



The Rule spread gradually to all the monasteries of the East and at an early date acquired supremacy in the religious communities of the Greek world. In Italy and Sicily the monasteries of Basilians were always in communion with the Holy See. The monastery of Rossano founded by Saint Nilus the Younger, and those of San Salvatore of Otranto, San Salvatore of Messina, and Grottaferrata deserve mention. Recently the monasteries established by Greek monks in these countries have been united into congregations

  • the Melchite Congregation of Saint Saviour, dating from 1715
  • the Ruthenian Congregation of Saint Saviour, united to the Church in 1595 and reorganized by Saint Josaphat
  • the Congregation of Aleppo, separated in 1829 from the Congregation of Chueir
  • the Baladite Congregation

In Lithuania reformed Basilians work in the Apostolate in connection with the Uniat clergy. A reform of Italian Basilians, dating from 1573, showed an inclination towards the use of the Latin Liturgy, which some monasteries adopted altogether. The Spanish Basilian monasteries, dating from the 16th century, also followed the Latin Liturgy; they were suppressed together with other orders in 1833. There is a teaching order of Basilians, founded by Monsignor d’Aviau, Archbishop of Vienne, France, during the French Revolution; established at Annonay, 1802; approved, 1863; banished from France, 1905; and now established in England and America, with four colleges and parishes in Canada (at Montreal, Toronto, London, Winnipeg, and Edmonton) and in the United States (particularly in Detroit, Houston, Omaha, Rochester, and Aurora).

Additional Information

MLA Citation

  • “Basilians“. CatholicSaints.Info. 18 January 2020. Web. 26 September 2021. <>