An area that formed the north-eastern portion of the Kingdom of the Merovingian Franks. Its capital was variously located in Metz, Rheims, Trier, and Cologne. Its territory is part of modern day France, Germany, Belgium, Luxembourg, and the Netherlands.

MLA Citation

  • “Austrasia“. Gazetteer of the Faith. CatholicSaints.Info. 31 January 2010. Web. 27 February 2021. <>