Archdiocese of York, England

Archdiocese of York, EnglandAlso known as

  • Archidioecesis Eboracensis



Profiled Bishops

Additional Information


The diocese’s metropolitan jurisdiction, which disputed for precedence with Canterbury, and which, at the Norman Conquest, extended over Worcester, Lindsey, and Lincoln, the dioceses of Scotland, and of the Northern Isles, at the Reformation included only Durham, Carlisle, Sodor and Man, and temporarily, Chester. Alcuin was at the head of its famous school, and its long episcopal list includes Thomas of Bayeux, the first Norman prelate; Scrope, and Wolsey. The famous minster was completed in 1472. When the last Catholic archbishop, Nicholas Heath, resigned in 1559, the diocese was lost and its cathedral taken over by the Anglicans.

MLA Citation

  • “Archdiocese of York, England”. Gazetteer of the Faith. CatholicSaints.Info. 7 November 2010. Web. 7 December 2021. <>