Archdiocese of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy

Also known as

  • Archidioecesis Perusinus-Civitatis Plebis
  • Diocese of Perugia






    Perugia is an ancient Etruscan city, the seat of a bishop c.546; a free commune in the 11th century, and in the 13th the residence of four popes. Perugia maintained its independence although continually warring with neighboring cities and revolting against the Holy See until 1860 when it became part of the Kingdom of Italy. The city possesses several medieval churches and a famous university founded in 1321.

    The diocese of Perugia was united to the diocese of Città della Pieve and the name changed to the Archdiocese of Perugia-Città della Pieve on 30 September 1986.

    Additional Information

    MLA Citation

    • “Archdiocese of Perugia-Città della Pieve, Italy”. Gazetteer of the Faith. CatholicSaints.Info. 20 June 2012. Web. 19 April 2021. <>