Archdiocese of Montpellier, France

Also known as

  • Archidioecesis Montis Pessulani-Lotevensis-Biterrensis-Agathensis-Sancti Pontii Thomeriarum
  • Diocese of Maguelonne
  • Diocese of Montpellier




    Profiled Bishops

      Additional Information


      Name changed from Maguelonne to the Diocese of Montpellier on 27 March 1536. On 29 November 1801 the diocese was expanded with the addition of territory from the Diocese of Agde, Archdiocese of Albi, Diocese of Lavaur, Archdiocese of Narbonne, Diocese of Saint-Pons-de-Thomieres and the Diocese of Vabres, all of which were suppressed during the persecutions of the French Revolution. The territory was lost on 6 October 1822. Name changed to the Diocese of Montpellier, Lodève, Béziers, Agde, e Saint-Pons-de-Thomières on 16 June 1877.