Apostolic Schools


Name given to institutions founded as preparatory schools for boys or young men of insufficient means, who desire to enter a missionary order, or to join the secular clergy with the intention of laboring in a mission field. The first of these schools was established by Father Alberic de Foresta, S.J., in 1865, at Avignon, France. The pupils were admitted at twelve years of age, or later, and studied the classics, modern languages, and mathematics, so as to be ready for the novitiate of an order, or for later courses in a seminary. They were supported by the contributions of the faithful, augmented by voluntary offerings from their parents. Within a decade there were schools at Amiens, Poitiers, and Bordeaux in France, Turin in Italy, and Turnhout in Belgium. Nearly all the religious orders have followed the Jesuits in establishing such institutions. There are well-known apostolic schools at: Mungret, Ireland, under the Jesuits; Wernhoutsburg, Holland, under the Vincentians; Tournai, Belgium, under the Salesians; and Freshfield, England, under the Missionaries of Saint Joseph’s, Mill Hill. Among these schools in the United States are those at Cornwells, under the Fathers of the Holy Ghost; Perryville, Missouri, under the Congregation of the Mission; South Langhorne, Pennsylvania, under the Society of Mary; and San Antonio, Texas, under the Oblates of Mary.

MLA Citation

  • “Apostolic Schools”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 22 November 2019. Web. 27 February 2021. <>