• Greek: treis, three; theos, God


Heretics who divide the Substance of the Blessed Trinity, so that each of the Divine Persons has a nature not specifically but numerically distinct from the nature of both the other Persons. This doctrine was held by a group of Monophysites of the 6th century under the leadership of two bishops, Conon of Tarsus and Eugenius of Seleucia, with John Philoponus as the principal writer of the school. The Catholic patriarch, John Schollasticus (565-577), condemned the doctrine and banished the two bishops who then proceeded to propagate the heresy in Corinth, Athens, Rome, and Africa. In later times, this heresy was revived, notably by Roscellin in the Middle Ages, by Canon Oenlbs of Trier in the 18th century, and by Gunther in the 19th century. Oemb’s book was condemned by Pope Pius VII in a brief of 14 July 1804, and Gunther’s false views by Pope Pius IX in a Brief of 15 June 1857.

MLA Citation

  • “Tritheists”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 8 February 2015. Web. 23 January 2019. <>