* In the early Church, the senate of the bishop who assisted in the rule of the diocese; see presbyter.

* That section of the church which is set aside for the exclusive use of the clergy. It is separated from the rest of the church by means of a railing, and is also elevated above the rest of the church. It is now known as the sanctuary. The laity are not allowed to be present in the presbytery during functions unless there is a contrary custom allowing this practise, or in the case of laymen who serve at the altar.

* In modern times, the residence of the clergy.

MLA Citation