The third Book of the Bible, named from its contents, as it deals exclusively with the service of God and the religious ceremonies of the Old Testament as carried out by the members of the tribe of Levi, both priests and Levites. It may be divided as follows:

  • the rites of the sacrifices (1-7)
  • consecration and installation of the priests (8-10)
  • the laws of purity (11-16)
  • the law of holiness (17-22)
  • religious institutions (23-26)
  • blessings and curses (26), forcibly illustrating the character of the Mosaic law of fear

MLA Citation

  • “Leviticus”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 20 December 2010. Web. 21 January 2019. <http://catholicsaints.info/leviticus/>