A collection of the decrees of the Council of Vienne, 1311, under Pope Clement V, published by authority of Pope John XXII, 25 October 1317. They are official and form the Seventh Book of the Corpus Iuris Canonici. The collection comprises five books divided into titles and chapters. The decrees refer to the disputes concerning the Franciscan Spirituals, poverty among the Minorites, the Mendicants, visitation of convents, the Beguines, benefices, the management of the Inquisition, etc. References are made thus: “C. 2 in Clem. De Testibus II, 8,” meaning Second chapter of the Clementinae, book two, title eight.

MLA Citation

  • “Clementines”. New Catholic Dictionary. CatholicSaints.Info. 15 September 2012. Web. 17 January 2019. <>