Book of Saints – Martyrs of Saragossa – 26 April

main article for the Martyrs of SaragossaArticle

(Saints) (April 26) (4th century) Prudentius, the Christian poet, himself a native of Saragossa, celebrated in the next generation the triumph of these eighteen of his fellow-citizens. Their names are: Optatus, Lupercus, Successus, Martialis, Julia, Urban, Quintillian, Publius, Fronto, Felix, Caecilian, Eventius, Primitivus, Apodemus, Saturninus, and three others of the same name. They suffered in the persecution ordered by Diocletian and under the Prefect Dacian, notorious for the savagery he displayed in carrying out the behests of his Imperial master (A.D. 304). Most of them were put to death on one and the same day; the others after a second examination. Their relics, discovered in A.D. 1389, are enshrined at Saragossa.

MLA Citation

  • Monks of Ramsgate. “Martyrs of Saragossa”. Book of Saints, 1921. CatholicSaints.Info. 12 November 2017. Web. 17 January 2019. <>