Abruzzi, Italy

Region in south central Italy. It covers 4,167 square miles with a population of about 1.3 million, borders Marche to the northwest, Umbria to the west, Lazio to the south, Molise to the southeast, and the Adriatic to the east. The region is divided into the provinces of L’Aquila, Teramo, Chieti and Pescara. The regional capital is L’Aquila. Towns in Abruzzi include Gissi and Rocca di Mezzo, and the Gran Sasso Mountains form part of the region. See also